To view the Catalog menu, you must enable Javascript in your browser.

Award Winners: Books

Commonwealth Writers' Prize

Established to award and encourage literary talent in the British Commonwealth; two prizes of are awarded annually, for Best Book and Best First Book.

International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award

The International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award is the largest and most international prize of its kind. It involves libraries from all corners of the globe, and is open to books written in any language.

Lannan Literary Award

Established in 1989 to recognize both new and established writers of the highest caliber.

National Book Award

Started in 1950, the awards are presented annually to American authors for literature published in the prior year. Awards are given in each of four categories: fiction, nonfiction, poetry, and young people's literature. 2010 winners can be found here.

National Book Critics Circle Award

Awarded annually, it recognizes books in five categories: fiction, general nonfiction, biography/autobiography, poetry and criticism.

Nobel Prize in Literature

Recognizes special achievements in Literature; awarded annually.

Orange Prize

The Orange Prize for Fiction is awarded to the woman who, in the opinion of the judges, has written the best, eligible full-length novel in English. Click here for past winners.

Pulitzer Prize

Recognizes the best work in many categories, including fiction writing.